For the Last Time, No, X is Not the New Doctor

Jennifer R. Povey
2 min readMar 30, 2022
Photo by Charlie Seaman on Unsplash

I love and adore speculating about who the new Doctor Who lead is going to be.

But every single time, people…often so-called media journalists make ridiculous reports as to who it is. There’s somebody at the Daily Mail who is obsessed with it being Kris Marshall. I can only assume he’s a fan who hopes if he says it long enough it will be true.

The two ridiculous reports this time are thankfully easy to debunk.

David Tennant

Rumor has it Tennant has signed a contract with Bad Wolf…but it’s not to come back as the Doctor.

How do I know?

Because he’s busy being Phileas Fogg! He’s not going to try and do both, he’s familiar with the physical demands of Doctor Who and the physical demands of Around the World are similar. He’s also very strongly involved with Around the World behind the scenes.

People never, ever take into account whether somebody is available for the job when they speculate. I kept telling people it wasn’t going to be Phoebe Waller-Bridge because she wouldn’t give up her own show (Fleabag) that she was writing to do it.

Hugh Grant

This one just made me fall out of my chair. I love Doctor Who but there’s no way Bad Wolf and the BBC could…

--

--

Jennifer R. Povey

I write about fantasy, science fiction and horror, LGBT issues, travel, and social issues.