Moments of Representation

Jennifer R. Povey
2 min readSep 27, 2022
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Last night I hit a major career milestone for any writer: My first college visit. To discuss my work, which is being taught to English Lit students at a small community college in Connecticut.

Not every writer cares about being taught, but for somebody who’s best work is typically at shorter lengths, it is a milestone. (I also want to show this to my old high school English teacher, who thought science fiction was brain rotting crap. Ahem).

But this led to one of those moments that reminds me that yes, representation really matters

That Pronoun Thing

The story being taught was my latest Analog story, “Song of Starlight.” Which is a science fiction “problem story.” It’s also about the queer, polyamorous crew of the Song of Starlight, who are all married to each other. This includes the ship’s AI, Mavra.

Mavra’s gender is “AI.” They use they/them pronouns. (The feminine name was the one given to them when they were created…or more accurate in this world bred…and they keep it because they like it, but they are not a girl Some AIs are girls, because they want to be ;)).

The class was mostly kids getting their first two years of college done for cheap…a smart move in today’s environment. Right at the back, though, was an older gentleman who was presumably retired…

--

--

Jennifer R. Povey

I write about fantasy, science fiction and horror, LGBT issues, travel, and social issues.